Quiz Reflections (Week 1-11)

Week 1

The quiz did not require to read the book. I rushed reading the questions and I got a score of 7/8. I decided to tackle the quiz again and read it carefully. I received a score of 8/8.

Week 2

I decided to tackle the quiz without reading chapter 2 first. The first attempt was 6/10.  My second attempt was observing and reading the questions carefully before answering it, the result was 8/10. My final attempt was reading the whole chapter 2 which gave me the result of 10/10. The reading was definitely worth it because it gives you more information and helpful tips from the textbook.

Week 3

Again, not reading the chapter first made me received marks that I’m not satisfied with. However, I did find it a bit easier than last week but I was unsure how to answer the other questions. I decided to read the chapter of the book hoping to read it before attempting any quizzes in the future. I tackled the quiz again after reading the chapter and got the result I wanted.

Week 4

This week is harder than last week. Although I read the book before attempting the quiz. I managed to get a score that I’m not satisfied with. I read and answered the questions too quick and did not get the score I’m happy with. I tackled the quiz again and read it slow and steady until I get a score of 100%.

Week 5

I was confused with the questions of the quiz so the score that I received was very low. I read the book again and decided to tackle the quiz after reading the chapter and got the score I was looking for.

Week 6 

Going into the quiz, I was feeling confident because spelling is one of the subjects that I spent more time studying when I was living in the Philippines. I thought the quiz is going to be correcting words that are misspelled. I decided to tackle the quiz without reading the book. On my first try, I got all the misspelled words correct. However, the other questions were from reading the chapter of the book so I go 50% on my first try. On my second try, I got all the questions correct by reading the chapter and what some words mean.

Week 7

Week 7 quiz topic is about Words. I read the book before doing this quiz and then completed the quiz.

I made so many mistakes in this quiz because I thought words that sound better makes it a better sentence. But I was wrong, in question three of the quiz. It’s asking me to choose which is the better sentence. I chose the sentence with ‘brawl near’ instead of the ‘fight next’. I thought the brawl near option sounded better with the sentence.

After reading the chapter and the feedbacks given, I read that ‘fight’ is an overstatement of ‘brawl’.

Week 8

Week 8 quiz topic is about Figures. Again, I made many mistakes because I decided to have second thoughts on some of the questions.

The first mistake that I made is question two about the increase percentage of British people that go to the cinema. The question is:

In 2011, 20 per cent of British people go to the cinema at least once per year. In 2012, 25 per cent of British people go to the cinema at least once. That’s an increase of:

I answered 5% which is incorrect. I realise this when I read the question again and saw the difference between 2011 and 2012.

Another thing that I had second thoughts was the following question.

Which is the correct sentence? Select one:

Select one:

a. Fourteen people died when the train derailed at speed. 

b. 14 people died when the train derailed at speed.

My first thought that the correct sentence is the first option but somehow changed it to the second one because I thought we write it with the numeric figure if the number is more than 10. The rest of the mistakes are not reading the questions properly. It could have been avoided and get better results if I read it nice and steady.
Week 9
Week 9 quiz topic is about Punctuation. I read the book before doing this quiz and then completed the quiz.
Punctuation is one of the things I’m interested in learning at simply because it makes the writing more clearer and overall better. I did better at this quiz but was confused at the mistakes that I had in the quiz like question six.

Which is the most correctly punctuated sentence?

Select one:

a. He said ‘punctuation is difficult’. 

b. He said, ‘punctuation is difficult.’

c. He said: ‘Punctuation is difficult.’

d. He said ‘Punctuation is difficult’.

Was confused whether the correct answer is the one with the comma but it was wrong.
Week 10
Week 10 quiz topic is about Punctuation again. I read the book before doing this quiz however, I did this quiz after work.
I got 80% again, same from last week. Questions I got wrong is question five and six.
On question five I answered ‘Thomas’s’ goats are coming home from the market.’ as the incorrect answer. I was confused with this one because I thought none of them were correct.
On question six, the mistake here was due to me mistakingly answering the question without reading it.
Week 11
Week 11 quiz topic is about Style. My lone 100% on the first try.
Surprisingly, I enjoyed answering the questions in this quiz and it made me feel more focus on the task.
Leave a Reply

